Making Democracy Work

Montgomery County


Montgomery County's population, as determined by the 2016 census, is 98,602. This figure includes the residents of the county's two towns, Blacksburg and Christiansburg.

Board of Supervisors

Members are elected from seven districts. Yearly in January, they elect from their membership a chairman and vice chairman. The Board meets the second and fourth Mondays at 7:15 pm at the County Government Center, 755 Roanoke Street, in Christiansburg. Agendas and minutes are online at (click "Board of Supervisors"). Regular meetings of the Board of Supervisors air on Comcast and Shentel Channels 190 on weekdays at 8 am and 9 pm (no meeting shown on Tuesday morning or on weekends). For e-news, visit

District Supervisors

See maps of voting districts, including polling places.

A Sara R. Bohn     term expires 12/31/21

B Chris A. Tuck     term expires 12/31/19

C Steve Fijalkowski     term expires 12/31/21

D M. Todd King     term expires 12/31/17

E Darrell O. Sheppard     term expires 12/31/19

F Mary W. Biggs    term expires 12/31/19

G April DeMotts     term expires 12/31/19

Constitutional Officers (elected)

Clerk of Court term expires 12/31/23; other terms expire 12/31/19
Clerk of the Circuit Court: Erica Williams ( 382-5760
Commissioner of the Revenue: Helen Royal ( 382-5710
Commonwealth's Atty: Mary Pettitt ( 382-5705
Sheriff: Hank Partin ( 382-6906
Treasurer: W. Richard Shelton ( 382-5723

Montgomery County Administration

Most offices are in the Montgomery County Government Center, 755 Roanoke St, Christiansburg, 24073

Administrator: F. Craig Meadows ( 382-6954
Assistant to County Administrator: Judy W. Kiser ( 382-6954
Deputy Administrator. L. Carol Edmonds ( 382-6954
Animal Control: Charles "Ray" Helmick ( 382-5795
Attorney: Martin McMahon ( 382-5730
Economic Development: Brian Hamilton ( 382-5732
Financial and Management Services: Angela Hill ( 382-6960
General Services: Scott Woodrum ( 394-2090
Health Dept: Noelle Bissell, M.D. (noell.bissell@vdh.virginiagov) 585-3300
Human Resources: Clay McCoy ( 394-2007
Human Services: Tonia Winn ( 382-5776, 382-5781
Information Technology: Philip Martin ( 382-5742
Libraries: Karim Khan ( 382-6965
Metropolitan Planning Organization: Dan Brugh ( 394-2145
Planning Dept: Emily Gibson ( 394-2148
Public Facilities: Scott Woodrum ( 382-5793
Public Information: Jennifer T. Harris
( 381-6887 Public Service Authority: Robert Fronk ( 394-6930
Parks and Recreation: Mitchell Haugh ( 382-6975
Registrar of Elections: Connie Viar ( 382-5741
Retired & Senior Vol. Program: Mandy Hayes ( 382-5775
Social Services Director: Larry Lindsey ( 382-6990
Virginia Cooperative Extension: Michelle Dickerson ( 382-5790


Montgomery County operates 10 staffed recycling and household waste collection sites, at which all county citizens (including residents of Blacksburg and Christiansburg) may deposit household waste and recyclables (including aluminum, steel and bi-metal cans, glass, #1-7 plastic, newspaper and glossy magazines and catalogs, corrugated cardboard, and used motor oil) at no charge.

Large, bulky items, such as appliances and air conditioners, also may be deposited at no charge, as well as car and light truck tires. Sites are closed on most holidays; Mon.-Fri. 7 am-7 pm (6 pm in winter), Sat. 8 am-6 pm, and Sun. noon-6 pm.

County residents can also recycle hazardous waste, including batteries and pesticides, and electronics for no charge on the third Saturday of each month at the Household Hazardous Waste (HHW) facility at 555 Authority Drive, Christiansburg. Call (540) 381-2820 x300 in advance for an appointment.

See the Montgomery Regional Solid Waste Authority website for more information.

County Taxes and Licenses

(Payable at County Treasure's Office, 755 Roanoke St, Suite 1 B. Christiansburg, VA 24073.)

Real Property Tax: Land and improvements on it are taxed at $0.89 per $100 of the assessed value (100% of Fair Market Value). Tax tickets are mailed in May and October and are payable by June 5 and December 5. The next scheduled general reassessment is 2018. For information on land values call the Real Estate Assessment Office, 382-5717.

Personal Property Tax: Taxable personal property includes all motor vehicles, trailers, campers, motor homes, mobile homes, boats, airplanes, and business personal property. To avoid penalty, file a personal property form with the Commissioner of the Revenue within 60 days of acquiring, selling, or bringing the property into Montgomery County. This requirement applies to all vehicles owned by individuals or businesses, whether titled in Virginia or out of state. Also file a change of address with the Commissioner of the Revenue within 60 days of the change to avoid penalty. The rate for vehicles is $2.55 per $100 (100% of clean trade-in value listed in January NADA book). Montgomery County prorates the tax according to sale or purchase date.
Personal property tax forms are mailed in February from the Commissioner of the Revenue and are due to be filed by May 1. Forms may be picked up from the Commissioner of Revenue, 755 Roanoke St., Suite 1A, Christiansburg, VA 24073. Telephone 382-5710.

Dog Tags: A fee of $5.00 for both male and female and $3.00 for spayed and neutered dogs is levied by the County for all dogs four months and older. Payable at the Treasurer's Office or at the Blacksburg Municipal Building. Proof of a valid rabies vaccination is required.

Motor Vehicles: A county license is required for all vehicles in the county outside 1he boundaries for the two towns. A motor vehicle fee is billed with the personal property tax bill. The license fee is $23.50 per calendar year, January 1 to December 31.

Electoral Board

Title Name Phone Term expires
Chairman Marshall "Dean" Dowdy 540-953-2281
Secretary Carroll D. Williams 540-808-6812
Registrar Connie Viar