Making Democracy Work

Candidate Forums / Voter Guide 2015

Four candidate forums in October 2015 will bring together candidates for Constitutional Officers (Clerk of Courts, Commissioner of Revenue, Sheriff), for the General Assembly (Senate and House), Board of Supervisors, and School Board. Download a pdf of the full schedule.

Videos: October 7, Constitutional Officers
October 15, General Assembly
October 22, Board of Supervisors
October 29, School Board; candidates from District F

Guide: scroll to the bottom of this page

Constitutional Officers October 7, 7 pm (Wednesday)

video of the October 7 forum, Constitutional Officers
County Government Office, 755 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg
Moderator: Brian Perdue

Clerk of Courts: Susan Richardson (R), Erica Williams (D) incumbent
Commissioner of the Revenue: Helen Royal (D) incumbent, James "Tay" Taylor (R)
Sheriff: Robert "Robbie" Hall (D), George Jackson (I), C.H. "Hank" Partin (R)

General Assembly October 15, 7 pm (Thursday)

video of the October 15 forum, General Assembly
County Government Office, 755 Roanoke Street, Christiansburg
Moderator: Elizabeth Obenshain

Senate, 19th: Michael Hamlar (D), David Suetterlein (R), Steven Nelson (I)
Senate, 21st: Dr. Nancy Dye (R), John Edwards (D) incumbent, Donald Caldwell (I)
House, 12th: Laurie Buchwald (D), Joseph Yost (R) incumbent

Co-sponsors: League of Women Voters--Montgomery County, local branches of the NAACP, the Virginia Interfaith Center for Public Policy, and the News Messenger.

Board of Supervisors October 22, 7 pm (Thursday)

video of the October 22 forum, Board of Supervisors
Blacksburg Town Hall
Moderator: Ann Hess

District B: Johnnie Puckett (D), Christopher Tuck (R) incumbent
District E: Michael Abraham (D), Darrell Sheppard (R)
District G: April DeMotts (D), William "Bill" Murray (I)

School Board October 29 7 pm (Thursday)

Blacksburg Town Hall
Moderator: Wayne Worner

District B: Penny Franklin, incumbent; Bruce Stanger
District E: Martisha "Marti" Graham, incumbent; Brandon Roop
District F: Connie Froggatt, Barbara Skinner
District G: Mark Cherbaka, Jason Massie

The candidates for Districts F and G will participate in the Forum. Districts B and E will be on the ballot, but the two incumbents (Franklin, Graham) will be unable to attend because of a School Board meeting.

Voter Guide 2015

This voter guide includes candidate biographies and responses to questions for elections for the General Assembly (Senate, House District #12), Constitutional Officers, Board of Supervisors, and School Board, all for Montgomery County, Virginia.

Voter Guide 2015